wherever you go


2 Comments

moving day

It’s here. They’re here.  Two guys are packing things as I type.  I’m at the boring section of the day, but it started out so stressful.  Someone remind me not to procrastinate next time!  But really it was fine.  When the movers arrived I was taking apart the crib. Myka was already at someone else’s house, so it was just Emery and I.  The craziness was directing the movers, disassembling the crib, Emery crying, and knowing that I still had dishes in the dishwasher all that the same time. After the crib was done, I held Emery, and got the dishes out of the dishwasher everything was much better.  Even if I feel really unorganized, we really did a pretty good job getting everything sorted before today.  I should have taken pictures.

Emery’s room was full of the items we wanted to go to Saudi Arabia.  The front room was where we put everything we wanted to go to storage.  Then in the living room there were more items for both shipping and storage.  I had a list of things to do so I wouldn’t forget them.  Bring the wagon and plastic potty from the backyard to the driveway.  Get the Brita pitcher out of the fridge.  Make sure the gates are packed.  Empty the dishwasher.  Check the laundry.  There were areas in the kitchen which needed cleaned up.  I didn’t want any trash packed.

There were a couple times I would remember something to tell the packers.  “Oh, there is a table and chairs outside that need to go to storage.” “This side of the shelves stays; that side gets packed.”  “The cedar chest is actually full of things that need to be put in boxes.”  But the movers have been so gracious.

Things I should have thought about earlier:

Clean out your fridge.  I have a couple containers in there that I want in Saudi Arabia. Now I have to personally carry them there.

Remember your bath mats. I did.  Just barely

You’ll need to keep a couple towels.  Can’t shower without them.  Well, you could, but that would be unpleasant.

You’ll also need somewhere for your children to sleep.  I’m fine sleeping on the couch, but Myka and Emery need somewhere to nap.  We borrowed a crib mattress for Myka and a pack-n-play for Emery.

Food and a way to cook that food. Paper plants and plastic silverware are just the beginning.  Thinking about eating some simple frozen food? You may need a pan, a serving utensil, hot pads.  Who thinks about this stuff?  You no longer have a microwave or toaster.  Now I have english muffins with no way to toast them.  How disappointing is that?

No car seats mean you will be stuck at home a lot.

I learn so much each time I do this.  Maybe someday I’ll know what I’m doing!

Do you have moving tips?  Fun moving stories? I’d love to hear them!

