wherever you go

Compound Living…

5 Comments

I live in a compound…

Imagine a retirement community built in the 70’s in Florida that has pretty much not been updated since.   I can’t actually take or post pictures for security reasons.

It’s home. And from what I have heard, lots of people like it. It is very safe. It is family friendly with a swimming pool. Lots of kids around. I saw a “wild pack of teenagers” this evening sneaking behind a building to hangout.

It has character. All the buildings are single story dwellings. A mix of single bedroom attached apartments and multi bedroom villas. My studio apartment has tiled floors, dated furniture, and a basic kitchen.

Image

Image

Image

Kinda reminds me of living at a summer camp. Sorry for those of you who don’t understand this reference, but it reminds me of Penn Del Retreat Center or Refreshing Mountain Camp from my days of being a teenager in Central Pennsylvania if you remove all the trees and turn up the heat and humidity.

The TV has satellite service, though the channel selection is limited to National Geographic, FoxMovies, a few Indian channels, a few Arabic channels, CNN, BBC, and a couple channels that show crickets 24/7 and everything has Arabic subtitles.

I wondered around this evening and got myself completely lost in all the winding, twisting streets. But no worries, I couldn’t get too lost. The compound is surrounded by a wall, so I couldn’t go too far.

Everyone I have met so far that has family here loves this compound. It has palm trees, a relaxed atmosphere and reminds you of where you are, Saudi Arabia. The other compound, the newer compound, is high rise apartment buildings, lots of concrete, and from what I’m told is sterile and institutional. If you live there, you are closer to the newer stores, the newer restaurants, and work. You could almost imagine you were living somewhere else.

I am not sure where we will ultimately live. Eventually all project personnel are supposed to live in the new compound, but no one knows when that will be.

I want to remember where I am, why we are here, and what our mission is. That would be, to help this country build a modern sustainable industrial city, that is safe and secure, where businesses are successful and people live happy lives.

This is an adventure, I miss home and family and friends terribly. I believe that this is my mission and I am thankful to have a wife who agrees that this is where we are supposed to be. If I wanted a comfortable and easy life, I would have stayed in the states, but I am not sure that was an option for us. This is where we have been called to be…. I pray we will follow this path wherever it may lead for as long as possible and when it’s time to go “home”, we will follow the path that direction.

5 thoughts on “Compound Living…

  1. Love being able to follow this journey of yours. Thanks for the pics! I bet the palm trees are gorgeous =)

    • Thanks for following the blog..

      The palm trees are kinda pretty some places, but pretty scraggly in others. I’ll try to take some pictures if I get a chance to do any sightseeing down by the beach.

  2. Glad you are able to keep in touch with this blog and let us know what is going on in your life. Will be praying for you and Kelsie.

  3. Very nice post! Like being able to hear how things are and will be for you and your family! xo

Share your thoughts with us..

