wherever you go

Beachy Amish Church and five generations

4 Comments

I’m sorry it has taken me so long to post this. It’s been waiting for me to add the picture, and I just moved my photos from the camera to the computer.  “Last Sunday” was actually December 2nd.

 

Last Sunday I was visiting my great-great-Aunt in western Pennsylvania with my mom and Papa. My Aunt is 90, living on her own with some friends stopping by to help her with some daily things, and I wanted to visit her before we leave for the KSA.  It was a great little trip.  We drove there on Saturday morning, and got there about lunch time.  We played Rumicube while Emery napped and had a quiet evening visiting in the small living room. We had five generations in the living room, all having fun and visiting together.  It’s something that I might never experience again.  Don’t worry.  I took a picture.  Although, sorry Emery, you were sleeping.

IMG_1278

The next morning we went to a Beachy Amish church.  A year ago my Papa heard an acapella group from this church sing at the folk festival that is in Springs, PA every October.  He called them about coming and asked if they would sing a song that day and they did! They even asked if he had a request.  There was no children’s church and no nursery.  Everyone was together for the service.  We survived, but I’m not used to trying to keep Myka and Emery quiet for an hour and a half.  It’s probably a good discipline; I could use more quiet moments.  A family from the church invited us to lunch at their house, and we accepted.  I think they were Mennonite but not very plain.  The food was plentiful and delicious.  Their four boys, ages eleven to sixteen, were some of the best behaved children I’ve ever met.  Everyone was friendly, kind, and gracious.  I especially felt that graciousness while walking out of the service for the third (or fourth..) time.

Here is a link the the folk festival I mentioned:

http://www.pavendors.com/events/somerset-county/springs-pa-october-springs-folk-festival.htm

And here is a link to a page about Beachy Amish churches:

http://www.gameo.org/encyclopedia/contents/B435ME.html

 

Other random things I was just remembering about this trip:

On our way to church we saw trees that were tapped for maple syrup.  There was thin tubing running all through the woods, and sap moved through the tubing by gravity to containers somewhere else.

We saw about 25 pallets with bags of organic cane sugar.  I wonder if it was from an Amish farm or not?

 

4 thoughts on “Beachy Amish Church and five generations

  1. Thanks for sharing that, Kelsie. I know Papa really enjoyed his trip out there with you.

  2. I love your blog!!! Great pic!!

Share your thoughts with us..

