wherever you go

Psalm 89:1-52

1 Comment

I receive daily devotional emails from The High Calling and today’s was titled “Advent Reflection on God’s Promise to David” focusing on Psalm 89:1-52.

It hit me right between the eyes, I could relate to what this message was saying.

If you’ve seen any of my status updates on Facebook you probably noticed they’ve been kinda grumpy.  One friend described them as “dark”.  Yes, they have been grumpy and dark.  I’ve been having a rough couple weeks. 

Over six months ago when I started the journey to the new job assignment,  I was enthralled with the idea of living overseas.  Working in an exotic location with coworkers from all over the world.  Exploring new places with my wife and kids.  I worked tirelessly to quickly complete all the paperwork, I prepared and practiced for my interview, and scheduled appointments right away so I wouldn’t delay the process of getting the new job.

So here I am, approaching Christmas. 

I have been here in Saudi Arabia for nearly 3 months.  The job is not exactly as I had expected.  I feel a little let down.  I am bored by what I do all day.  I feel underutilized and over qualified.  I was told this job required someone with 10+ years of experience and all I do is data entry.  I am often on the verge of shouting matches with others because I disagree with the process or procedures or lack thereof.   I struggle to keep a positive attitude and usually moan and complain to my wife and family via email and FaceTime about how horrible my time has been. 

I was whining to a coworker with quite a bit more experience over here than I have and he said I have 3 choices: 1. Suck it up and deal with it and change myself, 2. Try to get transferred to another department here, and 3.  Go home, maybe international work isn’t for me.

Then I read today’s devotional and God smacked me across the back of the head.

Long before Jubail, Saudi Arabia was a possibility, God put something on my heart and Kelsie’s heart, to live, work, and travel overseas.  We believe it is what we have been called to do.  We believe it is the career God has promised to me and the life He has promised to us.

“Praise the LORD forever! Amen and amen!” Psalm 89:52

One thought on “Psalm 89:1-52

  1. I wondered when you would come back to your original vision. I am glad it was God who did the smacking as He has real influence. And I am glad you were listening through all the darkness. Yeah though I walk THROUGH the valley of the shadow of death …James 1:12 Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him. love you!

Share your thoughts with us..

