wherever you go

Soda bread and ovens

4 Comments

I forgot my oven was in Celsius.  I saw this…

max

…and thought, “What? That’s not very hot.”  Actually, 240C is 464F.  But I didn’t know that when I was baking my soda bread.  Boy, did I bake that thing.  Haha..

Here’s how it turned out:

soda bread

It was a little doughy inside and well cooked on the outside, which makes sense with the high temperature I was baking it at.  Not only did I have it turned All the way up, but I turned the broiler on for the first five minutes to add some more heat.  Hahaha!  At least it looks good and it’s still going to be eaten, probably with butter and some cinnamon sugar.  Well, now I know and will use my oven correctly next time!

Right now I’m the only one awake here.  Stephen likes naps all the time, but he isn’t feeling well and needs some extra rest.  Emery always takes a nap.  He seems to be the first to really adjust to this time zone; he was up at 7:00 this morning.  I’m not sure I’m ready for that…so I took a nap. 🙂  I was reading, my eyes got heavy, so I put my book down and snoozed for a little.  Myka was reading beside me on the couch, and when I woke up I realized she had fallen asleep too.  So cute.  She has a stuffy nose, so she’s snoring.  I need her to wake up now though, or she wont go to sleep tonight.  None of my quieter attempts have worked. I’m going to have to be a little more direct.  But not too direct.  She can be a bear (a grumpy bear) when you wake her up, and I don’t really want to deal with that.

Tonight we’ll be using some more laban to make pancakes!  I’m pretty excited about this; I love pancakes.   And then tomorrow Stephen is back to work.  He has a six day work week this week with (hopefully) no sick days, so it will be a long one.  But it will settle us into our normal routine, and there is plenty to do, so we’ll stay busy.  I’m usually fairly content with whatever I have, wherever I am.  But we’re just at the beginning here.  So far, just having pancakes is enough to make my day, and I’m happy to be here with my little family.

4 thoughts on “Soda bread and ovens

  1. So glad you made it! Hope it wasn’t too crunchy on the outside. If it’s too dried out on the inside, maybe you can use it for French toast. The good news is that it wasn’t really that much too hot for the bread; it was probably the broiling that put it over the top. 🙂

    This blog could be called “Adventures in Saudi Arabia”!

    Love you guys.

    • It wasn’t dry on the inside – more doughy. I took it out as soon as the outside started to bake too much. It’s ‘wherever’ because we don’t plan on being in Saudi Arabia forever!

  2. You inspire me! 🙂 Thank you so much for documenting your lives here. What a journey! Even if I don’t get to comment, I read you both daily and pray for you even more often than that. Way to go, Sands family! (I bet the pancakes were lovey!)

    • Thank you! That means so much! I’m proud to have you as a reader, and you can comment as often as you would like. 🙂 (and yes, the pancakes were wonderful! I think we’ll be making some more soon because Myka has already requested them again.)

Share your thoughts with us..