wherever you go

I’m just trying to make some cookies!

11 Comments

Figuring out how to bake was full of challenges today.

image

First I had to set up this lovely arrangement.  The mixer plugs into the converter which plugs into an adapter which is plugged into the wall outlet.  At least my mixer didn’t burn up!

image[1]

Then I had to figure out how to measure my butter.  I had a 100g stick and a 400g block.  100g = 3 1/2 oz (thank you Google!).  A stick of butter in the US is 4oz.  So the stick that I had was less than my usual ‘1 stick,’ and I was just guessing at how much of the larger block was 4 1/2 oz.  (Still following?)  I wonder if having a kitchen scale would help?  Does anyone have experience with this?

I looked online and 375F is 190C.  But even equipped with this knowledge I burned my cookies.

image[4] image[6] image[7]image[5]

First, they baked faster than usual.  Also, the one side (the side with the pilot) was hotter.  So I moved the rack up and positioned the cookie sheet farther to the right, away from the pilot light.  I also turned the oven temperature down for the last two trays.  My children weren’t really helping.  I got distracted a couple times and could have taken the cookies out of the oven before they burned if I had been paying better attention.  So it’s not all the oven’s fault.  I do think I’ll get an oven thermometer, though.

While I was baking the cookies, my children were strangely quiet.  I found them in our back bedroom having fun with my basket of yarn.  Ok, that’s fine.  It was keeping them entertained.  It wasn’t until later that I realized what a big mistake I had made.  Myka had created a ‘nest’ from my yarn.  It would have made a fine nest, all woven together as it was.  There were six to eight balls of yarn all tangled together.  Oy.  I am good at untangling things (something I may have inherited from my Papa – my grandpa on my mom’s side) and unwound the various balls of yarn from the ‘nest’.  It only took a half hour or so.

Lunch time was also exciting.  We had our first plate + tile floor experience when Myka dropped her plate while bring it to me for another pancake.

image[3]

Just a couple chips, but that’s enough for it to have to be thrown out.  I moved Emery across the room, out of the way, and went for the dust pan and brush.  That boy moves quickly when you want him to stay out of something! I think he wanted to eat whatever had fallen on the floor. (We never feed him..)  So in my rush to get back I scratched my arm on the cupboard door.

image[2]

Ouch.  I already have a nice bruise on the same arm from running into a door handle.  New place clumsiness, I guess.

On a happier note, we have been going for a walk each day.  It’s very nice out – highs at 70-80F this week. We take the wagon; Emery is content to sit and ride while Myka hops in and out the whole time.  I am so glad we brought that wagon!

Today we stopped at the office to see when someone would be responding to our request to have our porch screened in.  They couldn’t find any request on file. so I filled out a new one.  Stephen has been in contact with them about this several times. They have to have the original request somewhere.  The man at the desk said maybe tomorrow.  Actually, he just Might have said someone would come by tomorrow.  I was having a hard time understanding him.  Hopefully it is done soon.  The mosquitoes are Awful, though I don’t think any of us have any bites.  There is often a swarm on the porch in the evening.  And they stay inside our empty moving boxes (which are stored out there until they become a Surprise for Myka) which is annoying because when I move the boxes they all come flying out.  Yuck.  That also means I will wait until our porch is screened in to make Myka’s Surprise.  I’m not sure how to get the bugs out before the screen is put up…  Any suggestions?

While on our walk, I talked to a couple moms that were outside watching children.  One of them wrote down my email address and will invite me to the compound’s facebook group for the moms who live here.  That will be fun; it will be good to meet some other families.

And that was our…what day is it??…..Tuesday!

 

11 thoughts on “I’m just trying to make some cookies!

  1. Well, right now I could eat one of your cookies! Maybe even a burned one!! :>) Sounds like you are settling in nicely.

    Glad to hear the kids too seem to be in swing of things. Love ya all!!

  2. Silly girl. Take the boxes full of mosquitoes outside before screening the porch in.

    I love reading this blog. You’re experiences are allowing me to live vicariously. Love to all of you!

    • Haha! thanks. I did take all the boxes off the porch today. I’m going to break them down and put them in the shed. 🙂 There are still mosquitoes, though!

  3. Uncle Leroy used to eat the cookies we burned. Don’t know what are excuse was for burning cookies. Sure didn’t have the obstacles you had to bake a batch of cookies.

  4. I ate a couple of your burned cookies. They were quite good. Just a little extra crispy. I am glad you got your mixer working and didn’t burn the house down. Oh, the joys of using 110v appliances in a 220v world.

    Ohh, the porch is now scheduled to be screened in the first week of February.

    • There was a man on our porch this morning. I think he was measuring for the screens! That’s progress. (I didn’t really see what he was doing; I was still in my pajamas.)

  5. Yes, your PaPa can sure untagle a ball of string. I do believe that if you have that patients it came from him.
    I have used my phone here alot to do conversions on. I have an app that allows me to convert temps, measurments and milage from metric to real numbers I can understand.

Share your thoughts with us..

