wherever you go

TripS (two!) to Khobar

3 Comments

On Saturdays the compound bus goes to a grocery store called Lala which is about an hour away.  It’s in an area where three cities – Dammam, Khobar, and Dhahran – merge into one larger, busier city.  Last Saturday I took the kids and went with two friends.

First of all, I have to say that I am So glad I have friends here and that they went too because otherwise I don’t know how I would be able to take Myka to the bathroom or go to the bathroom myself.  Not only is there no lovely, large ‘family restroom,’ but there’s always the water on the floor (we can pretend it’s just water and remember I’m wearing a floor length robe…), usually no toilet paper, and a child who wants to touch Everything!  I have a toilet seat cover and carry some tissues on me, and we’ve done well so far.  But only because I’ve had someone with me who can watch Emery!

Ok, enough bathroom talk!

I was finally able to finish my grocery shopping!  Oh, well, almost…I didn’t get frozen or cold things because I didn’t bring a cooler, and we had an hour long trip home.  But it’s the closest I’ve come to being finished!  And next time I’ll take a little cooler if I need to buy cold things.  Someday I’ll figure out how to get everything on my list.  Whether that means shopping at certain stores at certain times or just revising my list is still something I’m working out.

The kids were really good on the bus and at the store.  Thank you, God, for fairly mellow children!  Myka sits and reads and is generally pretty good in these kind of situations.  Emery needs a little more attention and wrestling, but using food as an incentive to sit still works most of the time.  But if they wanted to run around and I had to try to keep both of them in seats, I don’t know how I would do it!

Today the same two friends, Myka, Emery, and I went to Khobar again, but we hired a driver to take us.  It was a much smoother drive in a minivan than in a bus, and the kids were in car seats.  I may have to take a car seat with me on the bus, at least for Emery.  It’s easier (and safer) to have the kids in car seats, but it’s hard enough to carry Emery and a bag to the bus.  I’m not sure how to bring along a car seat as well.

We went to the Dhahran Mall, stopped at a coffee shop there, and walked around.  I loved it. Getting out, seeing new places – it’s just fun. However, I was reminded by the dirty dishes, piles of laundry, and dirt on the floor that I’ve been neglecting my home.  I think one outing during the week may be our max!

On our way home we stopped at the vet and picked up a cat that had been spayed earlier this week.  She is doing well and lounging in her normal spot on our door step.  Myka and I spent some time out there with her this afternoon.  We got covered in cat hair, and she got some much loved attention.

Tomorrow I’ll handle the laundry, dishes, and dirt.  Tomorrow…

3 thoughts on “TripS (two!) to Khobar

  1. I love your blog! maybe I’m living vicariously through you guys! Love Aunt Diana

  2. Kelsie you are such a trooper and such a good momma too.

Share your thoughts with us..