wherever you go

Silly Things I Do…

3 Comments

Sunday night I needed to get to bed early.  I was waking up at 130 AM.  I was going to a Super Bowl party.  Kickoff was at 230 AM.  Oh the joys of living overseas.  A week or so ago when the party was planned I asked Kelsie if she minded if I went and she gave me her blessing.  The night of I wanted to make sure it was still ok and here’s how the conversation went.

Me:  “Are you sure it’s ok that I go to the party tonight?”
Kelsie:  “Yes, it’s fine.  I just think you’re silly.”
Me: “Will you be annoyed if I go?”
Kelsie: “No, I’ll only be annoyed if you want to sleep tomorrow evening instead of be with the family”

This was good information to know.  I am glad we got that cleared up.

So at 130 AM my alarm went off and I got up and ready to cheer on the 49ers.  There is not much traffic on the highway at that time of night, but the traffic I did have was impressive.  A single vehicle accident that looked like it had rolled about 20 times before coming to a rest.  I am pretty sure no one survived.

I arrived at the party just after kickoff.  There were a total of 7 guys at the party, there were supposed to be a couple more, but they slept instead.  It was great fun to watch the game with a bunch of guys and cheer on the teams.  We didn’t get all the amazing commercials I am used to watching, but we did get to see the halftime show.

The game finished just in time to go to work at 7 AM.  I was already tired.  I made it through most of the day but headed home to catch a short nap before my normal time of getting home.

I still had an evening with the kids.  I love my evenings with the family.

Even though it was great to watch the game and the team I really like was in the Super Bowl, I’m getting too old for this.  Kelsie was right, I am silly.

Yesterday, I took my first trip to Bahrain.  Bahrain is a small island nation you can drive to from here.  It takes about 2 hours or so to get to the causeway which takes you over to Bahrain.  Depending on traffic, the causeway with all the formal customs agencies, leaving Saudi Arabia and entering Bahrain, can take anywhere from 20 minutes to 5 hours.

This trip had a purpose…  Racing.  Go-kart racing to be specific.  One of the guys here at work organized a day of racing for us.  Next to the Formula 1 race track is a go-karting track.  Our race captain had arranged for us to have a practice race, a qualifying race, and two timed races.  It was loads of fun.  It was also very difficult and I was horrible at it.

After a long day in the sun on the track, shopping, going out to eat, the long trip back home, I was tired when I arrived at home at 10 PM.

In the middle of the night I woke up to get some pain medicine.

Kelsie didn’t say it this morning, but I was thinking.  I am silly, but it was lots of fun, and I wish my dad was here so he could have gone racing with me.

3 thoughts on “Silly Things I Do…

  1. We all do silly things like this.

    Okay, maybe not.

    I haven’t hopped in a car and sped to another country to race go-karts (which, by the way, I was thinking ‘golf cart’ when I read your e-mail to me about this…hehe), but we all do silly things and things that remind us how old we are.

    I, for one, am constantly doing little things that remind me how old I am. Even something as simple as sitting on a hard floor with my legs crossed in front of me, meditation style. I used to do that for hours on end when I made collages in my bedroom in Dauphin. Now after about five minutes I. can’t. move. Let alone get up on my own.

    And it only goes downhill from here. 🙂

  2. I would have loved to go go-carting with you! And I hope we can do it soon! ;.)

    • I certainly spent most of the time racing thinking about all our fun times riding go-karts in New Hampshire, Florida, and Carlisle.

Share your thoughts with us..

