wherever you go

The liturgical year

5 Comments

Lent begins today.

I’ve been reading The Circle of Seasons, a book my sister-in-law gave to me, and I’m really enjoying it.  It’s one of the books I keep nearby and read as we go through the year, moving through each of the liturgical seasons.  I grew up in a non-denominational, charismatic church, and I didn’t really know anything about liturgy either in a church service or as seasons through the year.

One of the definitions Merriam-Webster has for liturgy is “a customary repertoire of ideas, phrases, or observances.”  A repertoire – something you rely on, go to for reference.  Your repertoire is what you have available to use.  As I go through each day and struggle to just be patient, kind, or gentle with my children, I realize that I need more ‘skills’ in my repertoire.  Liturgy helps me remember that just asking God for help can completely change my day.

I could use more structure in my life in many ways; often I can be too relaxed and dismissive of things.  I procrastinate. I ignore. I forget.  So the liturgical year helps remind me of what is important, my priorities, or rather what I want my priorities to be.

Still, I forgot about lent until yesterday.  Yesterday was Fausnaught Day or Fat Tuesday.  My sister-in-law asked if we ate any doughnuts.  Confused?  Here’s a short explanation:

“Pennsylvania Dutch fasnachts are often made from potato doughnuts, and may be uncoated, powdered with table sugar, or dusted with confectioner’s sugar.”

“Fasnachts were made as a way to empty the pantry of lard, sugar, fat, and butter, which were traditionally fasted from during Lent.”

http://askville.amazon.com/Fausnaught-Day-call-today-day-eat-fatty-doughnuts/AnswerViewer.do?requestId=66236157

Because I forgot, I get to think and pray about what Lent will mean to me today, the first day of Lent.  Better late than never?

Will you be giving something up, changing something, doing anything different during Lent?

5 thoughts on “The liturgical year

  1. Blessings on you and your family during this season of Lent!

  2. Well, I knew it was coming since my church has an Ash Wednesday service but it still snuck up on me! It is rather early this year, so we can use that as an excuse. 🙂

    We didn’t eat donuts yesterday, but we did make scones in the middle of the afternoon and smother them with Nutella. Yum.

    Love you guys. Glad you’re enjoying ‘Circle of Seasons.’

  3. That brought back memories of mama making potato donuts for us when we lived near Lansdale, PA

Share your thoughts with us..

