wherever you go

Gingerbread houses

5 Comments

My mom makes these little graham cracker houses with the children who come to her daycare, and I wanted to do with our group of friends here. I wasn’t sure I could get all of the supplies I needed, but thought I would try.    While they don’t have any Christmas items here, I did find other candies that were the right colors.  I had some red and green sprinkles and all the ingredients I needed for the royal icing glue.  The only thing I was missing was Graham Crackers!  I have seen them at our grocery store, but they are rather expensive, so I don’t usually buy them.  Now that I want them, they are no where to be found.  A friend managed to find some one day, but when she went back a couple days later they were all gone!  Thankfully, the one box she had was just enough for the number of houses I needed to make.  Friends who share are pretty terrific. My back up plan was to decorate cookies, but houses are much more fun, so I’m glad that worked out.

There would be seven children at our house to decorate the gingerbread houses and make messes.  The houses are easy to construct, the royal icing glue makes them very sturdy, and the kids loved decorating them.  (Except Emery who just wanted to eat everything.) It was a full house but less stressful than I thought it was going to be.  Everyone played together well, enjoyed the houses, and the mess was easily and quickly cleaned up.

IMG_3090 IMG_3094 IMG_3095

IMG_3107 IMG_3106 IMG_3101 IMG_3100 IMG_3099 IMG_3098 IMG_3097 IMG_3096

5 thoughts on “Gingerbread houses

  1. So cute! But…why is everything in your oven?

  2. love it! and yes Emery would eat anything!

Share your thoughts with us..

