wherever you go

Home and Away

1 Comment

When I get back home in Saudi Arabia there are things I miss:

Driving off to the store basically whenever I want

Grandparents available and quite willing to watch their grandchildren

Cooler weather

Wearing jeans

A crazy selection of everything at stores. (I especially like picking out whatever kind of juice that I happen to want. I know…weird.)

 

But there are things I miss when I’m not here:

Being together as a family

My own space with my very own things

Our friends here

Our regular routine (not that we have found it again yet!)

A swimming pool just a walk away

Even our cats, though not the cat hair..

 

Our big event since we have been back: Emery has switched to a toddler bed from his crib. I’m thankful for the two and a half years he stayed put in our crib, but during this last trip he perfected the art of climbing out of a pack-n-play. The plan was to wait until we got over the jet lag to switch to the toddler bed, but he was climbing out of the crib a lot. I didn’t want him falling all that way onto a ceramic tile floor (OUCH), so our first full day back he moved into the toddler bed.

Nap times are great. No issues. He just stays there and goes to sleep. Night time is Awful. He doesn’t stay in bed, he climbs in his sisters bed (they share a room), he visits the playroom and brings noisy toys into their room, he is waking his sister up, they both visit me in the middle of the night… It’s been four nights. The first night the time change kept them up until the middle of the night. The second night we improved to a solid eleven hours from 10:00pm to 9:00am. I thought, “Great! We are on our way!” Uh…Yeah. Now they just get up. All night long. It’s throwing my sleep off (on top of any remaining jet lag and being eight months pregnant), and I end up awake even between the visits of my children.

So I’m a little grumpy today.

And I will be changing my tactics tonight. Hopefully a change on my part will cause a change on their part! Maybe this is combining the transitions of jet lag and switching beds, so I’m just going through it once instead of twice?

 

Edit: I also miss Target. And pharmacy items in the grocery store. And Panera Bread.  Those cinnamon crunch bagels are *sigh* amazing…

Last night was much better! Emery came out of his room room two or three times before Stephen and I went to bed. And he visited once in the middle of the night. Also, he was up at 6:00 which was a little early, but I’ll take the overall improvement! I stayed in the kids’ room for about fifteen minutes after our bedtime routine to see that Emery stayed in his bed and everyone settled down.  Not sure if that is what made the difference; Emery was still awake though quiet and laying down when I left. We will see how tonight goes!

One thought on “Home and Away

  1. We really enjoyed our time with you all. but I understand why you are glad to be home! :>) and sorry but I had to laugh when you said “he visits the playroom and brings noisy toys into their room” I can picture that and realize that Emery wouldn’t even have a clue that he should be quiet! Thanks for the post!

Share your thoughts with us..

