wherever you go

School

Leave a comment

It’s Myka’s first day of school today! She hopped right on the bus while holding a friend’s hand (so cute), and a friend of mine who works at the school said she settled into her class well.  I am so thankful for friends who check on my little girl on her first day of school!  What surprised me the most was how in-the-dark I feel about what’s going on for Myka right now.  Why didn’t I realize it would be like this? Of course I wouldn’t know what is going on: she’s at school and I’m here at home.  But I just didn’t think about how clueless I would feel.  And it’s not like I can text her teacher and ask, “Hey, how’s Myka? Everything going well?” which is what I could do if she was at a friends or with a babysitter.

Emery’s surprise today was a set of trains and tracks from Ikea.  He loves it.  He has played with those trains for hours today.  We did stop playing with trains to go to the playground.  That was a poor decision on my part; it is still too hot for that. We should have gone to the pool, and we’ll go swimming tomorrow. As we get to the playground, and Emery goes running off, he says to himself, “Where’s Myka? Oh, school.”  It was so sweet that he thought of her.  I love that.

Now I’m in the middle of my first quiet afternoon of the school year.  Emery is napping, Myka is at school, and I get to decide what I want to do.  I made some banana muffins already.  Now I think I’ll pick something to watch on tv and work on the baby blanket I’m knitting.

I only have a few weeks of this type of leisure time!  Ha!  I’m going to soak it up.

 

 

IMG_4269.JPG

IMG_4287.JPG

IMG_4289.JPG

IMG_4299.JPG

IMG_4300.JPG

IMG_4308.JPG

 

Share your thoughts with us..

